So this whole Rihanna doobie thing has gone wayyyyyyy too far in my humble opinion. Its REALLY NOT that serious. This article definitely went above and beyond the call of duty when writing about hair.
Everyone is making a big deal about the fact that she left the house with a "pre style" hair style. No one knows what prompted her to do so.... supposed she was running late for the award show and didn't have time? or maybe the hairstyle that was planned didn't come out right and she has no time to change it so she just went with a wrap? From what we know about Rihanna she probably just didn't care. Neither should we, this girl is damned if she does, damned if she doesn't. Which is why she doesn't care and just does what she wants. She is living the life that many people want to live and are too afraid to live which is why she gets judged about EVERYTHING she does. She is living for HERSELF and no one else. We are so afraid to stand out and do things that goes against the grain. But when someone does exactly what we are afraid of we make such a stink about it, STOP HATING!!! I HIGHLY doubt Rihanna thought in her head she wanted to and will make a political statement with a doobie and some fancy bobby pins from sally's beauty supply store.
There is this "societal norm/rules" that everyone think they must follow or else they will be considered... ratchet... ghetto... someone with no class, etc. who came up with these norms? If I want to wear a doobie out the street... that's my business. No one needs to explain to white people what a doobie is other than the fact that its a tool that we use to keep our hair style as fresh as possible for as long as possible. The end.
Really people? I get that its something that we do at night, and undo in the morning before leaving our house. Most of us are guilty of leaving the house with a doobie to make a quick errand, or we just came from the salon at one point or another. Did we consider ourselves ratchet, ghetto then? *think about it* So... she went on tv with one? And? There are people that are interviewed by news crews with doobies on all the time, when you see them is the 1st thing that you think, "Why must she have a doobie on? She is soooo ratchet and a ghetto?" I doubt it.
The writer of the article I've linked in this post did THE MOST, SIS.... The words you used were definitely unnecessary, the fact that you decided to use words like, Diasporic, and sui generis, to make an article about a hair wrap seem educational, and politically driven was really dumb. Then you used words like ratchetry which is a slang term... sis who you foolin? Who was your target audience, cause I'm sure the BS you wrote, you didn't believe yourself. All you had to say was I didn't like that she wore a head wrap, I think that is something reserved for the privacy of your home. You did the most. Sit.
*Currently at a corporate meeting w/ a doobie & custom made 78 carat Harry Winston diamond hair pins*
Shawnee
No comments:
Post a Comment